top of page


The Advent Season is upon Us.  Advent is all about reflecting on how we can prepare our hearts and homes for Christ’s birth in the world as it is today.  It is a time for faith communities and families to remember, through prayer, reflections, special music, and good deeds what the true meaning of Jesus’ birth is. There are many different traditions associated with the four weeks of Advent.


When Is Advent Season Celebrated?

Advent Season starts on the fourth Sunday before Christmas and leads up to the Nativity of Christ and the second coming of Christ. That means that Advent lasts for around a month in total.  This year Advent begins on Sunday, November 27th through Saturday, December 24th.


Advent Candles

The candles also have their own special significance. The four candles represent the four weeks of Advent, and one candle is lit each Sunday. Three of the candles are purple because the color violet is a liturgical color that signifies a time of prayer, penance, and sacrifice.

  • The first candle, which is purple, symbolizes HOPE. It is sometimes called the “PROPHECY CANDLE” in remembrance of the prophets, especially Isaiah, who foretold the birth of Christ. It represents the expectation felt in anticipation of the coming Messiah.

  • The second candle, also purple, represents FAITH. It is called the “BETHLEHEM CANDLE” as a reminder of Mary and Joseph’s journey to Bethlehem.

  • The third candle is pink and symbolizes JOY.  It is called the “SHEPHERD’S CANDLE” and is pink because rose is a liturgical color for joy. The third Sunday of Advent is Gaudete Sunday and is meant to remind us of the joy that the world experienced at the Birth of JESUS as well as the joy that the faithful have reached the midpoint of Advent.

  • On the fourth week of Advent, we light the final purple candle to mark the final week of Prayer and Penance as we wait for the birth of our Savior. This final candle, the “ANGEL’S CANDLE,” symbolizes Peace. It reminds us of the message of the angels: “Peace on Earth, Good Will Toward Men.”

  • Sometimes a white candle is placed in the middle of the wreath; this is a beautiful modern adaptation. The white candle is normally lit on Christmas Eve, but for SJBC we will light this candle on Christmas Day. This candle is called the “CHRIST CANDLE” and represents the Life of Christ. The color white is for Purity—because Christ is our sinless, pure Savior.

6 Passages to Read for Advent

  1. Isaiah 9:2–7

  2. Hebrews 4:14-16

  3. Colossians 1:15–20

  4. Micah 5:2

  5. Luke 2:1–7

  6. 2nd Corinthians 8:9


Advent Season ends the year in celebration of Christ. It is a time for solace and remembrance. Advent Season is truly all about faith.

bottom of page